Android on Eclipse 101: “Instrument TestRunner not specified”

Hello Android,

I started poking into Android this Monday. I installed Android SDK and Eclipse  for JEE developers v3.4.2, following the instructions at the official Android dev site. “Hello Android” went pretty smoothly as I recall except for some minor confusions when I launched the project. I think it was something in regards to the “Android virtual device” but somehow I got thorough. Today when I tried to do the “Notepad” tutorial I got the same error. It was something like this:

“ERROR: Application does not specify a android.test.InstrumentationTestRunner instrumentation or does not declare uses-library android.test.runner” 

I googled this post here which seems to post back when the 1.5pre was out. And it turned out to be much easier with 1.5. So here is the trick.

The problem is that Eclipse doesn’t recoginize the AVD I created under DOS commandline:

android create avd –target 2 –name my_avd

What I did was I clicked the little mobile phone icon (the 16 bit color style somehow reminds me of DOOM II? on DOS) on the toolbar under the menue which says “Opens Android Virtual Device (AVD) Manager” (or alternatively you can go to Window->Android AVD Manager) -> “Create AVD” -> “Finish”.

From then on, the compiler hasn’t complained about the InstrumentationTestRunner.

2 Responses to “Android on Eclipse 101: “Instrument TestRunner not specified””

  1. Habib Says:

    Hi Android,

    When I run the android HelloWorld application, then following message is appear. Would You please tell me the how to solve this problem?

    Thanks,
    Habib

  2. Habib Says:

    Hi Android,

    When I run the android HelloWorld application, then following message is appear
    “An instrumention test runner is not specified”

    Would You please tell me the how to solve this problem?

    Thanks,
    Habib

Leave a Reply

