“Error #1088: The markup in the document following the root element must be well-formed.”

I was using PHP and curl as proxy to get some xml files from Basecamp for my Flex UI to consume and was successful (something like “return $response   = curl_exec($session);“. But after I refactored my little php functions into an object/class and included it in another delegation file, it suddenly stopped working. In Flex, I got the following error for the HTTPService fault event:

faultCode:Client.CouldNotDecode
faultString:’Error #1088: The markup in the document following the root element must be well-formed.’
faultDetail:’null’

In Firefox 3.5, the output XML file looked ok. But both Safari and IE gave error messages: There was an “*” in front of the <?xml ..?> header in Safari source code view; while IE gave the following error:

Invalid at the top level of the document. Error processing resource

After comparing the files before refactoring and the one after, I noticed that the refactored one was encoded in UTF-8 while the old one was in ANSI. After I converted my class file into ANSI, XML output became normal in all three browsers.

BTW, I used Notepad++. Not sure if that was an issue.

Anyhow, lessons learned: Make sure the source files are encoded in ANSI.

Any comments and thoughts are welcome!

Leave a Reply

